Facebook Rolls Out Unsend Feature

share on:

Facebook rolls out Unsend Feature for its Messenger.

Sometime in April this year CEO Mark Zuckerberg’s messages, were deleted without any intimation from many recipients’ inboxes. To calm the storms after the backlash it received, Facebook had then confirmed that it will roll out an ‘Unsend Message’ feature to all users in the future.

The new Unsend feature is rolling out for all users in Poland, Bolivia, Colombia, and Lithuania on Messenger for both Android and iOS users.

According to Gadgets 360, the ‘Remove for Everyone’ feature will enable users to delete any kind of message within 10 minutes of sending it includeding text, group chats, videos, and photos. It is reported that that the social giant will keep a private copy of the message for a short while after it’s deleted to make sure it can review if it’s reported for harassment. Users can also report a removed message.

READ THIS POST:  Apple Watch Saves User's Life

Stan Chudnovsky (Facebook’s head of messenger) while explaining the reason for the 10 minute interval, said “We looked at how the existing delete functionality works. It turns out that when people are deleting messages because it’s a mistake or they sent something they didn’t want to send, it’s under a minute. We decided to extend it to 10, but decided we didn’t need to do more.”

Waiting patiently for this feature to get to Nigeria.

Rnscope45

Rnscope45

IBHASOTE SOLOMON. Author and Admin at Rnscope45

Leave a Response